Book Reviews · Lists · Tags

Top 10 Tuesday – My Year in Books (2020)

Another year is almost in the books! That being the case, this last That Artsy Reader Girl given Top 10 Tuesday post for 2020 will be focused on, (what else!), a list of my Favourite Books of 2020!! So, while I ended up purchasing pretty much all of the physical books listed in my Most Anticipated Top 10 Tuesday posts for this year (an achievement I’m quite proud of, haha!), the bulk of the books I ended up reading (thanks to a little service called Kindle Unlimited) were, in fact, eBooks, a turn of events that’s definitely reflected below!

The Middleton Prep Series (Laura Ann): This series (which I binged on in a very small time-span, and then proceeded to read again at least two times each this year!) definitely had something about it that managed to thoroughly capture both my imagination and my heart, every one of the fairytale re-telling’s engendering a very appropriate feeling and level of magic. The series can be more or less halved in the middle through two distinct grouping of friends that teach at the titular school and find love along the way, the second group linked by connections to the billionaire Gruffman brothers. If I had to single one of the stories out however, it would be Running from the Wolf. A Red Riding Hood inspired tale, not only was this the first one I read, it also acts as a kind of bridge between the two friend groups. Goodreads

Blacksmith Brides (Amanda Barratt, Angela K. Couch, Pegg Thomas, & Jennifer Uhlarik) While all four stories in this collection became instant novella favourites of mine as soon as I read them, I’d have to say A Tempered Heart by Angela K. Couch is the one that surprised me the most in the way it knocked me off my feet both emotionally and objectively. The instant connection and affection between Thomas Flynn and Charlie in particular is incredibly poignant and beautiful. I also LOVED the Poldark-esque sweet and swoony love story in Forging Forever by Amanda Barratt! Goodreads

An Unexpected Bride (Ashtyn Newbold): The last book in Ashtyn’s Brides of Brighton series, this Regency tale of a guarded and traumatised mother and son finding peace, safety, joy, & love in a marriage of convenience with the wonderfully patient and protective hero has a bit of a fairy-tale feel to it which I completely adored! Goodreads

The Christmas Bargain/Capturing Christmas/Protecting the Princess (Shanna Hatfield): The sheer, unabashed level of romance Shanna writes into her stories left me swooning for page after page this year, but I think the three listed here come just a cut above the rest. The first a marriage of convenience (one of my favourite tropes) historical romance that kicks off her wonderful Hardman Holidays series (I just really love the warm feeling of family shared among the townspeople in this one, as well as the realistic and not over-dramatized progression of the romance), the second is actually book number three in her contemporary Christmas series Rodeo Romance (in spite of the multiple misunderstandings that pepper this one, the romantic chemistry is on fire!), and the last the conclusion to her Summer Creek trilogy (who doesn’t love a good royal romance, and the distinct personalities of the two leads in this one and the way they come together was just such a delight to read!) Goodreads

Reese’s Cowboy Kiss (Kimberly Krey): The first in her Sweet Montana Brides series, which has three rancher brothers falling in love with women under Witness Protection at their family ranch, Kimberly is another author who, again, KNOWS how to write a limb-weakening, heat-inducing, but still clean romantic scene!! The suspense ratcheted up thanks to a truly disturbed stalker situation also makes for some brilliant tension-filled moments. Goodreads

Cold Case Connection (Dana Mentink): Dana one of my consistent and favourite authors, this book is a prime example of why, featuring a wonderfully angsty dynamic between the two leads. The progression of their relationship from feelings of guilt and resentment to genuine protectiveness, compassion, and passion just brilliant to experience unfolding, the mystery was also expertly drawn out and interesting. Goodreads

A Touch of Love (Cami Checketts): I’ve read a few Cami Checketts books this year, and while I have enjoyed the majority of them immensely, this one rises to the top for me as perhaps the best written, with wonderful romantic chemistry and a relatable relationship at it’s core. Goodreads

A Movie Star for Christmas (Jess Mastorakos): The first book I’ve read from the pen of this author, the chemistry between the characters is natural, warm, and inviting, and the evolving central romance one you want to root for. The potential that exists between Holly’s brother Jack and mayor’s assistant Robin is also one I’m excited to read unfold someday! Goodreads

The Billionaire’s Practice Kiss (Tamie Dearen): Part of the limited time only Sweet Kisses novella collection, this one had me in an absolute emotional and swoony puddle from the first meeting of the two main characters, and it only got better from there! Kissing the Mountain Man (Jeanette Lewis) & If You Want to Kiss a Billionaire (Emma St. Clair) are also stand-outs from that collection I read more than once this year! Goodreads

The Rancher Takes a Cowgirl (Misty M. Beller): While I have loved all of Misty’s books I’ve had the enjoyment of reading, there’s something about this one that just puts it a teensy bit above the rest, whether it’s the tough yet vulnerable cowgirl, or the protective, hard-working Mexican hero, the likable and warm-hearted cast of characters in this world Misty has built, or most likely a combination of all three. Goodreads

Honourable Mentions: If I Could Stay (Annette K. Larsen), Stealing His Heart (Delaney Cameron), A Beautiful Love (Megan Walker), Backcountry Brides (Multiple Authors, with my favourites Her Redcoat by Pegg Thomas, The Counterfeit Tory by Shannon McNear, & Love’s Undoing by Gabrielle Meyer), Goldie and the Billionaire Bear (Catelyn Meadows), On the Second Day of Christmas (Deborah M. Hathaway).

Thanks for reading my last post of 2020 highlighting just a few of the books I absolutely adored reading this year! What are some of the best books you read that took you out of the unusual events of 2020? All my best for a wonderful New Year’s Eve, and I can’t wait to chat with you more about all things bookish below!

Photo Credit: Goodreads.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.